Cricket: National Award for Nunholm

11 11 2009
09 play-off Byers square cuts

Stuart Corbett-Byers up for National award

The Dumfries Cricket Club ground at Nunholm has been voted the tops amongst the National League Division Two clubs. The 2009 award for “Groundsman of the Year” goes to curator Davie Davidson and groundsman Raymond Murray for their efforts throughout the year.

In the other National divisions the 2009 winners are Uddingston for the Premier Division and Arbroath for the First Division. The presentation from the Institute of Groundmanship takes place on Thursday at the Royal Highland Showground at Ingliston, Edinburgh along with the football awards to the Scottish Premiership and the other 3 Divisions of the Scottish Football League.

Also in line for a Cricket Scotland award is APD Dumfries’s wicketkeeper batsman Stuart Corbett-Byers. He has been nominated for SNCL batsman of the year and all-rounder of the year in National Division 2. He hit two vital centuries during the season and finished with an average of over 40. He was also ranked as the top wicketkeeper claiming 20 victims behind the stumps. The winners will be presented at Cricket Scotland’s annual awards evening in December. His sponsors, the Sunday Nunholm Card School, can now bask in the reflected glory.

The club’s AGM takes place this Friday, the 13th Nov, at 7pm at the Dumfries Sports Club at Nunholm. Members are invited to attend to select the club officials for the 2010 season and to vote on the club awards for the 2009 season. More information on Dumfries Cricket Club can be found at



%d bloggers like this: