Cricket: Byers is Dumfries Player of the Year

24 03 2010

Stuart Corbett-Byers in 20/20 action

Stuart Corbett-Byers retained the Dumfries Cricket Club 1st XI Player of the Year Award for last season at the Annual Dinner and Awards held at the club last Friday.

The wicketkeeper-batsman hit two vital centuries for APD Dumfries during the season and finished with an average of over 40. He was also ranked as the top National League Division 2 keeper claiming 20 victims behind the stumps, and as a result he was amongst the nominees for batsman of the year and all-rounder of the year in the division.

The 2nd XI Player of the Year went to Chris McCutcheon for his all-round displays with bat and ball which were instrumental in JMS Nunholm retaining their place in Western Union Division 2.

The Jimmy Steele Bowling Trophy was awarded to Chris Bellwood for his devastating spell of 6 for 14 against Premier League side Greenock in the National 20/20 semi-final on the last day of the season.

Young player of the year went to the promising Douglas Brotherston. His bowling and batting featured in games for the firsts, seconds, the Sunday XI and in the John Henderson and Sons Midweek League winning team, the club’s youth side, Coatbridge Cold Store Colts.

Player votes cast throughout the season resulted in Josh Geary being named Player’s Player of the Year. His on-field contributions and mature batting performances sealed several APD Dumfries victories and meant he was the side’s top run scorer for the season.

Training for senior players continues on Saturday mornings from 11am at Nunholm. New players are welcome to drop in or they can contact Trefor Williams on 01387 256455.

2009 Club Awards

1st XI Player of the Year: Stuart Corbett-Byers
2nd XI Player of the Year: Chris McCutcheon
Jimmy Steele Bowling Trophy: Chris Bellwood (6 for 14 vs Greenock, 20/20 semi Shawholm)
Junior Player of the Year: Douglas Brotherston
Player’s Player of the Year: Josh Geary



%d bloggers like this: